Municipal Day winners and participants


The Town Council hosted Municipal Day for Merrillville Intermediate School fifth and sixth

They held an essay contest to choose MIS students to participate in the meeting. The students partnered with a leader in the town and actively learned about policy-making processes and operations of municipal government. They participated in a reception at 5 p.m. and the meeting at 6:30 p.m.

Trinity Thomas was the top essay winner, and she was the president of the town council and ran the meeting. She read her essay at the meeting. 

Other students chosen included: 

● Town Manager Prince Patel town council
● Clerk Treasurer Yiser Abdulhasan 
● Building Director Gwenyth Felker 
● Planning Director Michael Walls II 
● Police Chief Brandon Rush 
● Fire Chief Herbert Campbell 
● Parks Director Terrence Harvey 
● Director of Code Enforcement Rayelle Morton 
● Town Attorney Mariah Hayes 
● Director of Storm water Daniel Martinez 
● Director of Public Works Haleigh Carter 
● Director of Economic Development Summer Wallace 
● Human Resources Tyran Todd 

● 7 members of the Town Council

1.    Trinity Thomas, President
2.    Ezra Lopez, Vice President
3.    Nylah James 
4.    Nasir Watkins meeting
5.    Pari Patel 
6.    Amanda Hubbard 
7.    Samirah N'Doumy 

● Public Comment

1.    Malachi Whitlow 
2.    Jordyn Triplett 
3.    Jayden Jenkins 
4.    Royce Edwards 
5.    Christopher Stewart 
6.    Leland Ray 


Back to School News       Print
© 2023 Merrillville Community School Corporation. All Rights Reserved