familysurveyresults

Dear Parents/Guardians,

Thank you for your participation in the Family Survey that was sent out. 

The goal of the survey was to collect critical information from you about concerns and needs in providing educational services for your child as we continue to make adjustments in our daily lives in response to COVID-19.  We identified these key survey findings: 

•    More than 80% of you stated you were at a level of 7 or above out of 10 on “coping” with changes that COVID-19 has brought to our school community. In fact, 68% of you were at an 8 or above. 


•    You also identified a need to have correspondence with school personnel via email and/or phone regarding your child’s academic and overall well-being. 


•    You indicated a desire to have increased resources/activities (SEL) to keep your child engaged and access to coping strategies and support for your family during these trying times.  


To support some of the concerns and needs, we’ve added new resources to our district social work COVID-19 resource website: https://sites.google.com/mvsc.k12.in.us/mcscsocialworkcovid-19/home

Our district social workers are working hard to support students, families and teachers. Social workers are reaching out via email and Google Voice/Hangout. 

Please reach out to our district social workers and continue to answer our emails/calls for support. Reminder: As we work from home using Google, our calls may appear as unavailable or from an unfamiliar number as we try to reach you at home to offer support.

Wishing you safety and good health,

The Merrillville Social Work Team

Merrillville High School
Trisha Keown, MSW, LSW, LSSW: tkeown@mvsc.k12.in.us
Carol Dahlen CMHC,CTP-C: cdahlen@mvsc.k12.in.us

Pierce Middle School
AJ McKeague, MSW, LSW: amckeague@mvsc.k12.in.us
Stacy Mills, MSW, LCSW: smills@mvsc.k12.in.us

Merrillville Intermediate School
Jose Mendez, MSW, LSW: jmendez@mvsc.k12.in.us
Gina Eustace, MSW, LSSW, LAC: geustace@mvsc.k12.in.us

Iddings Elementary School
Nicole Dominguez, MSW, LSW: ndominguez@mvsc.k12.in.us

Fieler Elementary School
Annette Brown-Gilliam, MSW, LSW,  LSSW: abrown@mvsc.k12.in.us

Salk Elementary School
Patricia DeJesus, MSW, LSSW, LCSW: pdejesus@mvsc.k12.in.us

Miller Elementary School
Nancy Fleming, MSW, LSSW: nfleming@mvsc.k12.in.us

Wood Elementary School
Dorthea Robbins, MSW, LCSW: drobbins@mvsc.k12.in.us





Back to School News      Print News Article
© 2020 Merrillville Community School Corporation. All Rights Reserved